Main Bathroom Refresh

Finally, a bathroom refresh! When we moved in over two years ago, this bathroom didn’t need much… or so I thought (much like the rest of the house). We began by giving it a good cleaning, and my mother in law painted the walls for us. A few months later I decided to gel stain the vanity, which was one of our best moves. It completely changed the builder-grade-look of this bathroom.

But since we touched everything else in the house, recently the bathroom seemed to fall flat for me. Here’s what it looked like when we moved in:

thumbnail.jpg

And this is what it looked like once we painted, redid the vanity & moved our stuff in:

thumbnail.2.jpg

Here’s what it looks like now!

bathroom.3.jpg

 

bathroom.2.jpg

bathroom.1.jpg

I have to tell you; this shiplap was somewhat of a risk for me. I had been seeing sharpie shiplap everywhere, so I decided to give it a try. My thought process on this one was if it looked terrible, I’d just paint back over it.

I mean, it is a black sharpie line on a white wall, how good could it look?

I was SO mistaken!

In photos and actually in person, it looks pretty real you guys. I couldn’t believe it! I finished the first wall right before my husband got home from work, and he didn’t believe me that it wasn’t wood on the wall. Crazy how it tricks the eye, isn’t it? If you’ve been thinking about it, go for it! I think it’ll only look real on a white wall for future reference, although I’ve been thinking about doing it to one of our walls in our bedroom! I’ll keep you updated on that.

After the sharpie shiplap was done, my husband installed a chair rail along the top of the “shiplap” on the entire bathroom to make it look more realistic. This step definitely helped it look complete.

Now for this mirror. We’ve wanted to frame it in ever since we moved in. Again, it just makes it look builder-grade. The issue is this outlet:

bathroom.1.jpg

It’s what’s stopped us from framing it because of the width issue of the wood we’d frame it with. We’d either have to cut the wood down to a tiny piece or stop it before the outlet. It would be too thick to put it behind the outlet. Let’s be honest here, we haven’t tried to do it because we basically didn’t want to deal with it.

But as I was doing the shiplap, I had a thought. Why did the frame have to be a wide piece of wood? I ran out into the garage and grabbed a few pieces of scrap wood. I found one piece that would fit in between the mirror and the top of the outlet perfectly. A little one-inch piece of wood, all around this mirror did the trick! It took my husband about 15 minutes to frame it in, then I painted it and it was all set!

I added some new towels and bath mat, along with some new décor pieces in here… and wala! It didn’t take much for this bathroom to become super cute.

I just want to mention, that this bathroom was completely fine pre-refresh. We loved it as is, the issue here is that I can’t sit still for too long and I like a little change now & again!

Well here she is, everything I hoped & dreamed for. If I’m being honest, I’ve been dreaming about stenciling the floors… to be continued 🙂

xo

3 thoughts on “Main Bathroom Refresh

Leave a comment